Alsuren

February 19, 2008

Dancing, guush

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: — alsuren @ 3:26 pm

Since last Monday, after Salsa, I’ve been yearning for a decent jazz/blues dance with someone. Something with lots of Guush (sp?). I went to the speakeasy yesterday, and had a load of amazing dances. There were a few new student-types there, who seemed really up for the whole learning random charleston moves thing. I also had a really nice dance with Mirjana. I can’t really explain it, but there was definitely guush. I was talking to her body, and I didn’t notice what her feet were doing to support her (she could have been floating for all I knew). I think maybe it was just that neither of us were really thinking, so it was just a nice relaxed dance: not too much crazyness, and only a few subtle “there’s the break” style pauses etc.

I had a brief discussion with Rosie about Salsa, and at some point during the night, I worked out why I spin her so much (yes: it is me leading it): I think it’s because I don’t feel safe leading her in swing-outs. In Salsa, I guess you want to be made aware of every part of the other person’s body (so I can understand how heels might make it easier), but in Lindy (for me, at least) it’s nicer if you don’t notice the footwork. That way, you can feel the other person’s centre without too much noise. Once you have that, you can add in smooth variations, and you have my perfect dance. I guess if you’re thinking of shoes that are perfect for dancing, they would be the same shoes that you’d play run-outs with your little cousins in, (but with a bit of slide, so that you don’t have to lift your feet too much). Maybe I should find out what size shoe Rosie takes, and duct tape some plim-soles for her… Maybe I should bring some duct-tape for Alex as well.

Also, was reminded that Lara can *definitely* move her body while blues dancing. I suspect that I may not have been the best lead there, because I was thinking more about what she was doing than what I was doing.

The only thing that was missing was a Gill :(. Hopefully she will get better in time for next week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

